Calling All Moody Surfers

When my film loving friend was in town (check out her lovely blog) I took this surfing photo on her camera at Manhattan Beach. It’s a tip of the hat to Catherine Opie’s surfing communities and I kind of fell in love with the water. So of, course, I tried to recreate the moment and headed back to the beach with my own camera. 

Image

My complete failure to recreate the mood of this photo is a humbling reminder that no – you can’t repeat the past. Luckily, I came home with a completely different and yet still interesting set of photos. Mostly of waves. Lots waves. You’ve been warned. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

